Complete Story

Lifesaver Award Nominations

The Schumacher-Ketcham Lifesaver Award

The Schumacher-Ketcham Lifesaver Award Committee is soliciting nominations for this year. The Award is named after our late President Don Schumacher and Board Member Richard (Rick) Ketcham to recognize excellence and achievement in capital litigation: trials (including resolution by plea), mitigation investigation and presentation, appellate/post-conviction/habeas litigation, and education. Past recipients include: Jerry Simmons, Karen Roberts, David Doughten, John Parker, Randall Porter, Rick Ketcham, David Stebbins, Kate McGarry, Allen Bohnert, Carol Wright, Alan Rossman, Dorian Hall, Don Malarcik, Joe Gorman, Brian Pierce (posthumously), Jeff Gamso, Bill Kluge, Tim Sweeney, Jim Crates and  Linda Pudvan Richter.

Nominees should be recognized for their work in one of the following:

Nominations, including a brief explanation of why the nominee is deserving of the award should be submitted no later than October 10, 2023. Please send nominations to Amy Nicol,  Please direct any questions to Amy or David Stebbins (


Printer-Friendly Version